Choose Your Own Adventure

Management books share the same basic flaw as diet books: they ignore your uniqueness. They lay out plans and patterns and strategies in such general terms that they never quite seem to fit with the way you live and work. Sometimes they get close. Sometimes you can run your life successfully by following their advice, but it always seems like you have to tweak their advice to make it work for you or drop certain specifics of their plans. People are not plastic molds that can be mass produced, little management drones or fitness machines. The best leaders come up with their own personal management styles.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, as I consider my future in librarianship. I’m already on the management track in my library system and would like to continue to advance and get more involved with professional organizations. To prepare myself, I’m trying to shape my own personal style, using my former and current supervisors as models of what to do and what not to do. I want to use my skills and abilities to provide ideas, input, and services that no one else can, delivered in a way that no one else can.  I want to be a good enough leader that I can guide myself into the future that’s right for me. I want to write my own personal management book, shelved in the stacks of my brain.

Time to get started. Time to turn the page.

Leave a Reply

